



PO Box 1296, Alfred, ME 04002 207-791-3600 www.mesfoundation.org info.mesfoundation.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Kristie Hurlburt, Executive Director khurlburt@mesfoundation.org

MES FOUNDATION PROVIDES \$232,500 TO MAINE STUDENTS

Alfred, Maine - July 16, 2019 – MES Foundation (MES) announced today the winners of the Richard H. Pierce Memorial Scholarship and the MES Foundation Scholarship, totaling \$232,500 in awards to 26 Maine students.

MES awarded ten \$5,000 Richard H. Pierce Memorial Scholarships, renewable for up to four years and 15 one-time \$1,500 Richard H. Pierce Memorial Scholarships. Established in honor of MES founder, Dick Pierce, who passed away in 2011, the scholarship is awarded based on distinguished academic merit and financial need. The MES Board of Directors also selected one Maine resident to receive the MES Foundation Scholarship in the amount of \$5,000, renewable for up to two years.

"We hope to lessen the financial stress placed on our Maine students and their families, while they pursue a postsecondary education," said MES Foundation Executive Director Kristie Hurlburt. "We are thrilled to invest in the future of these stand-out students as they enter the next chapter of their lives."

MES will accept on-line scholarship applications beginning January 1, 2020 through April 1, 2020 for the 2020/2021 academic year at <u>www.mesfoundation.org</u>.

Richard H. Pierce Memorial Scholarship Winners:

\$5,000 renewable scholarship

Maguire Anuszewski – Winthrop High School Benjamin Butterfield – Mount Abram Regional High School Eben Cooley – Piscataquis Community High School Emma Cripps – Kennebunk High School Rachel Jones – Robert W. Traip Academy Emma Lunny – Sanford High School Sarah MacDonald – Marshwood High School Megan O'Connell – Sanford High School Caroline Payne – Greely Hill School Alan Thach – Deering High School

\$1,500 one-time scholarship

Megan Boulay – Community High School Jason D'Amico – Freeport High School Brooke Egan – Rangeley Lakes Regional School Colby Ellis – Kennebunk High School Avery Gosselin – Maine Central Institute Francesca Houran – Casco Bay High School













PO Box 1296, Alfred, ME 04002 207-791-3600 www.mesfoundation.org info.mesfoundation.org

Lillian Johnson – Carrabec High School Harmoni Larrabee - Baxter Academy for Technology and Science Syeira New – Massabesic High School Gabriel Pasternak – Telstar High School William Pearson – Cape Elizabeth High School Abby Pomerleau – Thornton Academy Jeffery Waters – Massabesic High School Lily Webber – Westbrook High School Andrew Young – Cheverus High School

MES Foundation Scholarship Winner:

\$5,000 renewable scholarship

Taylor Davis – Cony High School

######

MES Foundation is a nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering and promoting higher education.







